[Malifaux] Dirty Neverborn players...

Through the Breach, and we're not talking about a glory hole...

[Malifaux] Dirty Neverborn players...

Postby Drool_bucket » Fri Dec 06, 2013 10:13 am

...all sat together last night and wordlessly colluded with each other to cheat and scheme.

Not particularly surprising... it takes a certainly kinda soulless person to field such crews.

But an answer to a question last night.

Pandora only pushes when she succeeds at her Incite action. Pg 31 of the rulebook states roughly that a model's duel is defined by the stat it's using. If you are attacking with a Ca action, it's a Casting duel, if you are using WP, as in Incite, it's considered a WP duel. Likewise, if you are using a stat to defend yourself, you are considered performing that kind of duel. So when Pandora uses her WP to defend herself, she is performing a Willpower duel, and if she succeeds, she gets her 4" push.

So, as I see it, her 4" Push ability is limited to her Incite action and when she is targeted by an action which she defends with Df/Wp. (Because Pandora always use Wp instead of Df.)
TAFK
User avatar
Drool_bucket
Mindless Soul
Mindless Soul
 
Posts: 6498
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 3:35 pm
Location: Arkham, Massachusetts

Re: [Malifaux] Dirty Neverborn players...

Postby Thunderjaw » Fri Dec 06, 2013 10:28 am

Neverborn players aren't dirty... they're the natural owners of Malifaux... it's every one else that's jumping through the breach like plague rats that are dirty...


So last night when Cody's Pandora was getting shot by the Flamethrower guy, he could have moved closer to you and gotten in engagement range and nullified the rest of the shooting actions? (I know he was further than a single move could have taken her, but work with me).

And does pushing out of engagement allow for disengaging strikes (I'm thinking that it's like a leap... no strikes)?
Last edited by Thunderjaw on Fri Dec 06, 2013 10:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
++$ Brad
User avatar
Thunderjaw
Mindless Soul
Mindless Soul
 
Posts: 6283
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 8:35 am
Location: Right here

Re: [Malifaux] Dirty Neverborn players...

Postby Jonasty » Fri Dec 06, 2013 10:29 am

This makes sense and I can understand your reading of this. I think it was your piss-poor wording last night that threw me when trying to understand what you were asking. :roll:

I'll post this to the Wyrd forums as well only because since it's the only ability she has with WP listed as her starting stat, it could the card is a misprint. That could imply she only pushes on defesive duels ever (since she always defends with WP). Or it could be as Cody and I interpreted it last night, that so long as WP is involved in either side of the duel then it counts as a WP duel to Pandora which mean it doesn't matter if it's CA or WP listed for Incite.
User avatar
Jonasty
 
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 3:18 pm
Location: Watertown

Re: [Malifaux] Dirty Neverborn players...

Postby Drool_bucket » Fri Dec 06, 2013 12:29 pm

Thunderjaw wrote:So last night when Cody's Pandora was getting shot by the Flamethrower guy, he could have moved closer to you and gotten in engagement range and nullified the rest of the shooting actions? (I know he was further than a single move could have taken her, but work with me).
Kinda. I shot and hit Pandora so her Fading Memories ability wouldn't work because she didn't "win" the duel. Had she won the duel than yes, she could have pushed. And if that push was within 3" of the Flamethrower guy (Friekorps Specialist) then he would not have been able to shoot again because Pandora has a 3" Ml (melee) range, meaning her engagement range is three inches. The Specialist has his flammerwurfen Attack action which he can't use when engaged because it has a Projectile Attack Icon (the little gun image) in it's stat line.

Thunderjaw wrote:And does pushing out of engagement allow for disengaging strikes (I'm thinking that it's like a leap... no strikes)?
Only Walk Actions cause Disengaging Strikes, pushes, places, charges and moves don't.
TAFK
User avatar
Drool_bucket
Mindless Soul
Mindless Soul
 
Posts: 6498
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 3:35 pm
Location: Arkham, Massachusetts

Re: [Malifaux] Dirty Neverborn players...

Postby Thunderjaw » Fri Dec 06, 2013 2:09 pm

Kinda. I shot and hit Pandora so her Fading Memories ability


Yeah, that's what I was implying; if she'd of successfully defended against getting shot. So with good flips/cheats you could get some serious movement out of her abilities.
++$ Brad
User avatar
Thunderjaw
Mindless Soul
Mindless Soul
 
Posts: 6283
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 8:35 am
Location: Right here

Re: [Malifaux] Dirty Neverborn players...

Postby Lucyth » Fri Dec 06, 2013 3:26 pm

Drool_bucket wrote: Pg 31 of the rulebook states roughly that a model's duel is defined by the stat it's using. If you are attacking with a Ca action, it's a Casting duel, if you are using WP, as in Incite, it's considered a WP duel. Likewise, if you are using a stat to defend yourself, you are considered performing that kind of duel. So when Pandora uses her WP to defend herself, she is performing a Willpower duel, and if she succeeds, she gets her 4" push.


That seems weird. Every time I attack with CA vs. WP, I'm performing a CA duel but the defender is performing a WP duel? It's the same duel but it has different names depending on which end of it you're on? That seems needlessly complicated.
ryltar wrote:I would hate to disappoint your cock Ian.
User avatar
Lucyth
Mr. Religion
Mr. Religion
 
Posts: 2940
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 11:15 pm
Location: Arlington, MA


Board index Discussion Malifaux Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron